Crazy-Ass Pizza Time

17May08

Witness, if you will, the effects of watching too much iron chef & food network. For the first time in several days I was actually home for dinner; so down to Valumart I headed with an open mind and an empty stomach. On the way there I remembered that my housemate Eric whipped out a pizza stone when we all moved in… and that I had a bunch of mozzarella cheese at home, so needless to say this called for a pizza.

The two most notable toppings are manouri cheese, with which my friend Mara hooked me up in Hamilton last month, and fiddlehead ferns, which I’ve never eaten before.

Crazy-ass pizza recipe

  • dough from scratch
  • can o’ tomato sauce
  • shredded mozzarella and crumbled manouri cheeses
  • yellow sweet peppers
  • fiddlehead ferns
  • hot genoa salami
  • dash of craziness

Make the dough. Preheat the oven and the stone. Saute the peppers and boil the ferns for 10 minutes. Put the stuff on the pizza and cook at 500 degrees for 10 minutes. Chew, chew, swallow, repeat!



2 Responses to “Crazy-Ass Pizza Time”

  1. 1 Mariel

    But Dave, how did it taste!?!?

  2. It’s a little while going back in my memory (I made 2 other pizzas in the intervening time) but I remember that the manouri combined really well with the vegetables. Each slice was a pretty hearty and tasty meal in itself…


Leave a Reply

